On Naming My Sons Princes

April 24, 2013 § Leave a comment

I went above and beyond in securing long fancy names for my sons. A lot of parents tend to arrive to the best name they can find for their children. Some dads name their sons after themselves (most of the time) unconsciously following a tradition observed even in ancient times as proven with the succession of regal names of Kings and Emperors.

In my case my father had the notion of naming me after himself but on a different language. Hence the name ‘Javin’ which is supposedly a translation of ‘James’ in ancient Hebrew. Interestingly it never checked out when I searched the net since every source says that ‘James’ translates to ‘Yaakov’ which is generally “Jacob.” Still, my searches told me that ‘Javin’ means any of the following:

  • Capital and namesake of Javin sector and the subsequent Greater Javin Region, along the Corellian Trade Spine. This is generally not bad considering its part of the Star Wars universe (Source).
  • Hurricane in the Sanskrit language (Source).
  • Cool, sweet, crazy, crunk, anything that is way out there and off the handle, out of this world based on an the online Urban Dictionary.
  • Very argumentative army guy still from the Urban Dictionary.

What I like about this name is that it’s very unique compared to other names. Downside is that a lot of people tend to mispronounce and misspell it. So after my elementary years I opted to go by my second name:

JET.

A lot of people assume I’m named after an aircraft or after the band or (interestingly) a dark coal used in jewelry. But in reality, this is another creative technique he used in naming me after him. JET, as a matter of fact, is taken from his initials since his full name was ‘James E. Tevar.’

And there you have it, folks. A complete special family recipe in naming your son after yourself.

In the end, naming a child after yourself or a relative boils down to enriching a sense of posterity. It’s human nature to pass down ideas, culture, tradition and, of course, names. Not only is this a mere slight of fancy or a whiff of fatherly pride but perhaps it is a validation of our humanness and our wish for a continual legacy.

Perhaps someday, my sons Prince Joaquin Cairo and Prince Juancho Cael would later name their sons a version of Javin Jet and James.

…or, who knows, maybe Batman.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading On Naming My Sons Princes at JetWrites.

meta

